A Killer Location: A Home Sweet Home Mystery - Sarah T. Hobart

See this and all my reviews at Mystereity Reviews

In A Killer Location, realtor Sam Turner is back in Arlinda for book 2 in the Home Sweet Home mystery. Life is good for Sam, she's settling into the home she was finally able to buy, her romance with Bernie (her sister's ex, Arlinda's police chief) is heating up and her real estate career is starting to take off, thanks to an opportunity to stage an open house in a very exclusive neighborhood. But, of course, nothing is every easy for Sam. Her sister (Bernie's ex-wife, no less!) and the open house from Hell leads to a corpse in the garden, Sam's boss is arrested for the murder. Desperate to save her boss (and her job!) Sam sets out to find a killer before she loses everything.

This book was hilarious and every bit as good as the first in the series. Poor Sam, even something as simple as an open house doesn't go right. You really have to feel for her, she's got so many things going on; making a success as a fledgling realtor, supporting herself and her son, a dodgy ex-husband, and trying to enjoy her new romance with Bernie and then it all blows up. I loved the catastrophic open house, it had me laughing out loud - especially the fleas!

This was a great plot, very tricky with plenty of misdirection and plot twists to keep readers guessing. I thought I had it all figured out but no, I didn't.

As with any book, the story is only as good as its characters and this is where the author succeeds; quirky, colorful and entertaining, they add so much dimension to the books. Smart and sassy, it's easy to relate to Sam and her hapless struggles, and Sam's neighbors are a hoot. I hope to see more of them in the next book!

Overall, A Killer Location is a great addition to what is shaping up to be an outstanding cozy mystery series. I definitely recommend the series to cozy mystery fans; with a lot of humor, a strong, independent single woman and great plots, it will appeal to fans of Stephanie Plum or Kinsey Milhone.

 

Thank you to Random House - Alibi and Netgalley, who provided an advance copy in return for my honest review.